Now I’m Covering American Extremism, Too

Standard

Discussing Muslim-world politics requires a lot of thoughtful study and reflection. It’s a tough subject to report on from the West, since the cultural context is by definition foreign. Before writing anything I usually have to do days, if not weeks, of contextual research to avoid making a Michael Weiss of myself. All of which makes it a great subject for academic work, but a tough topic to blog about.

So since my general area of expertise is extremism and media, and the American election is turning out to be, uh, extremely extreme, I’m going to be writing about that too from now on. Since I live this madness every day, it’ll be easier to shoot from the hip. And since I’m commenting on my own culture and country, I don’t feel bad being a little mean, which (let’s face it) makes for better reading.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

